Showing posts with label points. Show all posts
Showing posts with label points. Show all posts

Friday, November 11, 2011

Day three

What I ate today (roughly in order):
apple (0)
banana(0)
24 ounces of coffee with non-dairly creamer and 4 table spoons of sugar (4)
apple (0)
banana (0)
6 ounces of chicken breast (6)
Small halloween package size of m&ms (2)
4 peppermint candies (?? I am going with 2)
6 ounces of chicken breast (6)
zuchinni (0)
tomatoes (0)
mushrooms (0)
bell pepper (0)
1 ounce of hummus (1)
20 ounces of sweet tea (?? 4 that would be 4 table spoons of sugar, so it's a guess)
That makes a total 25.  I am going out with my wife tonight.  So I will update this later.  I still think I am missing something but that is what I know I ate today.  I was hungry at a couple of times today, and had I the correct type of snack food I would have been all over it.  But it seemed like it was more me wanting to eat than me being hungry.  Also I was really full after dinner.  Veggies are free so I had a bunch of them.  We will see.  Four days to weigh in.  We will see.

UPDATE: after the post I went out with my wife.  I had 9 chicken wings (12), 2 ounces of corn chips (?), and 3 ounces of guacamole (?).  So, clearly more than the 25 points. 

Thursday, November 10, 2011

Day two

Ok, here is what I ate:
  • Apple (0)
  • Banana(0)
  • 24 ounces of coffee (0)
  • 4 tablespoons of sugar(4)
  • Banana (0)
  • two chicken thighs with skin (8)
  • two pieces of chocolate candy
  • hamburger (no bun or condiments) (6)
  • eggplant (0)
  • squash(0)
  • zuchinni(0)
  • mushrooms(0)
  • 3 ounces of hummus (3)
  • sweet tea (8) this is a guess from the sugar, I am guessing high.
  • 2 poached eggs (5)

Total of 34 points.  It seems like I missed something in there, but still I am less than the 71 points for the day.

Wednesday, November 9, 2011

Day one

I started weight watchers today.  My wife has been on this same program for 2 months and lost 21 pounds.  I get 71 points because I am fat.  There is a proprietary formula that takes into consideration fiber, nutrition, fat, etc. to give all foods points.  Fruits and most vegetables are zero point foods.  It goes up from there.  She gets 41 points (well, it's 40 now) each day to spend on food.  I cook dinner so I have been cooking her dinner for two months now.  I see what she eats, I season it, I taste it, I am aware of how much food there is in her dinner.  The program seems manageable.  Unlike other diets that have you eat completely unnaturally while you lose weight and then transition to "real" food, this program essentially teaches you a new way to eat.  You are on the "real" food from day one.  I need to make a log for what I eat every day.  I am contemplating taking a picture with my phone so that I can record the food later but have the immediate record available to me.

I don't know the point values yet, I know I will learn them over time.  I need to "score" today and I think my weight watcher's book is in the van.  I will download the app for my phone but I can not do that until I sign up for the monthly plan.  Right now I am on the weekly plan.  I will be on the monthly plan in two weeks.

Here is what I ate today:
  • apple (0)
  • 24 ounces of coffee with non-dairy creamer (0)
  • one rotisserie chicken breast (6)
  • 12 ounces of sweet tea (3)
  • apple (0)
  • two of those small hershey's chocolate bars (3)
  • one roasted chicken thigh (5)
  • green beans (1)
  • two artisan tortillas (4)
  • 2 ounces of hummus (4)
  • salsa (0)
  • 2 ounces of sweet mashed potatoes (1)
  • 2 poached eggs (2)
  • one slice of white bread toast (2)
For a total of 31 points.